Dlfraser's Blog

The words of a country boy

Internet Crime

Posted by Moonshiner on February 7, 2010

   Modern technology is a treasure vault for modern criminals and people with malicious intent. I just read on MSNBC’s website that a woman in Wyo. was raped because her ex-boyfriend posed as her on Craigslist claiming to have a “rape fantasy” and wanted to be assaulted. Even though she immediately reported the web post to law enforcement (who immediately had it taken off), it was too late. According to the article, a stranger showed up at her front door and raped her at knife-point in her living room. He claimed that he thought it was invited due to the false web ad. This is just one example of how modern technology has its dark side. It seems that the web is full of con-artists and criminals. I stress to all my kids not to believe ANYTHING they read from people they don’t know; and, be cautious even when they think they know who they are communicating with.

   I tried to sell a car on Auto Trader once and had an idiot from Spain try to con me out of $15k. Of course I knew the scam (the old Western Union trick), so I played him along for two weeks. Eventually, I got his phone number because he started calling me; especially after he sent the fake check. His phone number showed on my caller ID once and that gave me his approximate location in Madrid. He was probably Nigerian (he had the accent) according to my Secret Service contact. The Secret Service investigates international crimes.

   After two weeks, I put together a string of emails between us, the fake check he sent me, and his phone number; and, forwarded it to the Secret Service. Never heard the outcome, but I had my fun. In my last email back to him, I told him that HE had been scammed. I attached a video clip of actual footage of one of our snipers in Afghanistan blowing people apart. I told him I would be seeing him soon…..from a distance.  No reply.

   These are just two examples of how criminals use technology. Their tactics keep improving every day. If anyone ever offers a deal that sounds too good to be true; it IS too good to be true. I live by that rule and the fact that absolutely nothing in life is free. It’s too bad for the woman in Wyo. that the rapist didn’t think that way.

One Response to “Internet Crime”

  1. Vicki Sauter said

    Actually the secret service only investigates these crimes if they are over a certain dollar limit — I had thought it was $50,000, but perhaps it is lower.

    Now, other than people using good common sense, what can be done to slow down or stop these folks? How should police, the government or others design systems?

    BTW, have you ever heard of scam baiting? You might want to give it a look and see how it fits into what you have discussed.

    With regard to your other posts, they are fine, but they don’t seem to have anything to do with the assignment.

Leave a comment